The Quartier des Bains’ contemporary art association gathering 18 cultural venues (galleries, institutions, art centers) aims to encourage and promote  contemporary art in the Quartier des Bains, in Geneva and beyond. 

The Quartier des Bains association

The association organizes four events per year which coincides to member galleries’ openings. Member institutions welcome the public free of charge on these occasions. Three annual “Nuits des Bains” take place in March, May and September. In parallel, the association organizes an event in January preceding artgenève and celebrating the beginning of the year. In November, the association participates in the open doors weekend organized by GENEVE.ART, an association federating galleries and cultural institutions of the city and canton of Geneva.

As in New York, Paris, Berlin or Zurich, you can find in Geneva a district where contemporary art galleries have gathered together. Based in the very heart of the city, the galleries have the great advantage to be situated very close to major institutions such as the MAMCO (modern and contemporary art museum) and the Centre d’Art Contemporain, also members of the association. Once an industrial district, the neighborhood now contributes to Geneva’s cultural life and has become an essential hub for contemporary art in Switzerland. It is now a lively district, both chic and bohemian, in which various restaurant and cafés have settled.

The Quartier des Bains association was created in the early 2000s by a small group of gallery owners. Recently established in the neighborhood following the opening of the Centre d’Art Contemporain and the MAMCO in the former buildings of the SIP (Société genevoise d’Instruments de Physique), a few gallery owners then decided to open their new shows simultaneously in order to attract a larger public. The joint openings were launched in 2001 and the association’s statutes were drafted in 2004. Since then, the joint events have been entitled “Nuit des Bains”. The names of the association and of the district come from the eponymous central street; the rue des Bains. Until the beginning of the 20th century, a public bathhouse existed on the Arve river, at the end of the street.

Save the Date !

(subject to change)

Ouvertures

18/03/2021

to 20/03/2021

Nuit des Bains

06/05/2021

L’association d’art contemporain du Quartier des Bains regroupe 18 entités culturelles (galeries, institutions, espaces d’art). Elle a pour objectif l’encouragement et le rayonnement de l’art contemporain dans le Quartier des Bains, à Genève et au-delà.

L'association du Quartier des Bains

L’association propose quatre événements par année qui correspondent aux vernissages des galeries membres. Les institutions membres accueillent gratuitement le public à ces occasions. Trois Nuits des Bains annuelles ont lieu en mars, mai et septembre. En parallèle, l’association organise un vernissage en janvier précédant artgenève et célébrant le début de l’année. L’association participe, en novembre, au week-end portes ouvertes organisé par GENEVE.ART, association fédérant les galeries et les institutions culturelles de la ville et du canton de Genève.

A l’instar de New York, Paris, Berlin ou Zurich, Genève présente un périmètre où les galeries et institutions d’art contemporain se sont regroupées. Basées au centre de la ville, elles ont l’immense avantage d’être à proximité de deux institutions phares : le Mamco (Musée d’art moderne et contemporain) et le Centre d’Art Contemporain, par ailleurs membres de l’association. Autrefois industriel, le quartier contribue aujourd’hui à la vie culturelle de Genève et est devenu une plateforme essentielle de l’art contemporain en Suisse. Il est désormais un quartier vivant, à la fois chic et bohème, dans lequel restaurants et cafés se sont installés.

L’association du Quartier des Bains a été créée au début des années 2000 par un petit groupe de galeristes. Récemment installés dans le quartier suite à l’ouverture du Centre d’Art Contemporain et du Mamco dans les anciens bâtiments de la SIP (Société genevoise d’Instruments de Physique), quelques galeristes imaginent alors vernir leurs nouvelles expositions simultanément afin d’attirer un plus large public. Les vernissages communs sont lancés en 2001 et les statuts de l’association sont rédigés en 2004. Depuis lors, les événements communs sont intitulés « Nuit des Bains ». Les noms de l’association et du quartier proviennent de la rue centrale éponyme ; la rue des Bains. Jusqu’au début du XXe siècle, un établissement de bains publics existait en effet sur l’Arve, à l’extrémité de la rue.

Ne manquez pas nos prochains rendez-vous

La rentrée du Quartier des Bains

13/01/2022

Nuit des Bains

10/03/2022

(sous réserve de modification)